Conselice is located north-west of Lugo, in the hinterland of Ravenna; it is on the border with the province of Ferrara and the natural reserves of the wetlands of Argenta and Marmorta and the wildlife refuge of Vallesanta.
During Roman times this town was known as an inland port used for trading between Imola and Venice; the place's name comes from its ancient denomination Caput Silicis, which related to the town’s strategic location on the wetlands of the Po di Primaro.
Today Conselice’s rhythm is not determined by water anymore, however it’s definitely worth a visit for its interesting monuments and for the great local gastronomy featuring food typical of the wetlands; this can be enjoyed at its best during the town’s summer feasts.
The best time to visit Conselice is between spring and autumn. Don’t miss the monument to freedom of the press (Monumento alla stampa clandestina e alla Libertà di Stampa) and the charming Piazzetta Guareschi, a square with paintings by the stage designer Gino Pellegrini, with images from the local landscape, local past events and tales from the writings by Giovannino Guareschi.
Other curious artworks include: the monument of frogs by Gian Piero Baldazzi, which celebrates the local delicacy, and the monument dedicated to "Mondine" (workers in rice patties) and "Scariolanti" (workers who carried dirt in wheelbarrows to create canal systems) created by Luciano Caldari to celebrate the workers’ revolts and the rice-patty workers' demands in 1890.
In summer the water park Aquajoss is one of the highlights, with breathtaking slides, a swimming pool with waves, water games, solarium, beach volleyball court, video games, a shopping centre and a snack bar.
Since 1919, on the first day of Lent the town has been celebrating the Carnival of San Grugnone: during this ten day event the town is known as “Stato di Boysteland” and is ruled by the king of “Pangiagleba” and its ministers.
Frogs are celebrated on the third weekend of September with the Sagra del Ranocchio: they are cooked in a variety of ways and are so important that they have inspired even a local monument.
The village of San Patrizio, 3km from the town on the way to Lugo, is home to the interesting church of the same name, which houses the 19th century clock of the bell tower, and to a 15th century mill which belonged to the duke Francesco Pico della Mirandola; the mill is located on the Canale dei Molini of Imola, the ancient canal which linked Imola and the river Po di Primaro.